State and Municipalities False Claim Acts

Currently, twenty-nine states and the District of Columbia have enacted false claims acts. Many of these state false claims acts are very similar to the Federal False Claims Act and allow for qui tam, or whistleblower, lawsuits. However, not all of the state false claims acts are as broad as the Federal False Claims Act. The following states currently have false claims acts:

Several municipalities have also enacted false claims acts or ordinances, including:

Counties: Cities:
Alleghany County, PA Chicago
Broward County, FL New York
Miami-Dade County, FL Philadelphia